About Malta

Megaliths, medieval dungeons and Calypso’s cave – the Maltese islands are positively mythic. The narrow, meandering streets of their towns and villages lead to the main square, which is invariably dominated by a baroque church. As its countryside is dotted with medieval towers, wayside chapels, and the oldest known free-standing structures in the world, Malta has rightly been described as an open-air, living museum.

The Maltese archipelago lies at the centre of the Mediterranean, 93km south of Sicily and 288km north of Africa. The archipelago consists of three islands – Malta, Gozo and Comino – with a total population of just over 400,000 inhabitants occupying an area of 316 square kilometres.

Malta is the largest island and the cultural, commercial and administrative centre. The slightly smaller Gozo is more rural, characterised by fishing, tourism, largest island and is more rural, characterised by fishing, tourism, crafts and agriculture. Comino, the smallest of the trio,is largely uninhabited.

With superbly sunny weather, attractive beaches, a thriving nightlife and 7,000 years of intriguing history, there is a great deal to see and do.

Do you need a visa to visit Malta? Is driving in Malta on the left or on the right? What currency is used in Malta? What is the weather like in October?

For further information about Malta, including answers to the above questions and other practical information and tips for visiting, visit the ‘About Malta’ section on the Visit Malta website.